WEEK FORTY-FOUR: FARM LIFE IS THE LIFE FOR ME… PSYCH

Dear Family and Friends,

Hahaha, if you didn’t guess from the subject line, I am in my new area, and it is a little bit different than my other two areas. I am now serving in Searcy, Arkansas, and it is wonderful!! There are about 10,000 people here in Searcy, and a pretty dang solid ward, so that’s great. And unlike my previous two wards, there aren’t too many transplants, most of the people here in the ward were born and raised in the South.

My new companion is Sister A, she has been out a little over a year, and after this transfer she has 2 left. She is from Farmington, New Mexico and she is a hoot. This is her sixth transfer as a Sister Training Leader, so she is really experienced, and I am really thankful for that. Our ward has three sets of missionaries; us, the Beebe (a town in our area) Elders, and the Zone Leaders. I have been here 4 days now, and I have already met so many cows, pigs, chickens, a turkey, and two peacocks at the homes of members. Sister A tells me there is a family in the ward that owns two snakes, but we haven’t eaten over there yet.

In terms of missionary work, we have three investigators with baptismal dates that are looking pretty solid. The first is Au, who is getting baptized this coming Saturday. She is 11 years old, and her mom and grandma are recent converts. Her dad isn’t a member, but we’ll snag him too before long. She is so cute, and she understands the gospel so well! She is getting baptized March 12th, the day before my birthday. Best birthday present ever! We also have a girl named B. She has a date for April 19th, and she is so cute too! She is in her 20’s and is married with one son. She needs to quit smoking before she can get baptized, but she has a really strong desire for baptism! And the last date is with a girl named K. She has two sons and her date is for March 26th. Hopefully all three baptisms will happen!

We have been able to spend some really good time with the sisters in our zone, and I am loving being able to spend so much time with them. I think I am really going to like being a Sister Training Leader, but I also think it is going to be really stressful. However, the calling is all about people, and I love people!! It’s weird how much more communication we have with the zone leaders and with President Wakolo, but again, I think it’s pretty cool.

Today my letter is pretty short because I’m going to the Memphis Temple for my birthday month, and I don’t have much time to email! I just wanted to update y’all on where I am now and what I’m doing. I’ll be going on five exchanges a transfer now, so expect a lot more pictures with a lot more people, haha. And this email will include lots of pictures to make up for the shortness!

But I just want to leave y’all with my testimony, I know our Savior lives, I know that He loves us, and that the gospel was restored through the Prophet Joseph Smith. I know that the gospel is the solution to any and every problem we face in this life, and that through it we can be a part of eternal families and receive eternal happiness.

Love y’all!!

Sister Hannah Kathryn Thomas

Leave a Reply

