Week Forty-Three: A New Beginning

Hey Family and Friends!

Oh my gosh. This was a weird week. Maybe I’ll just do highlights. We had a great lesson with a man named R this week. We taught the restoration, and at the end of the lesson he ran out of his apartment, to his car, to get his copy of the Book of Mormon we’d left with him last time. The Spirit was really strong in the lesson, and I am just so thankful that Sister K & I work so well together. Our companion unity was so strong as we taught that lesson!

I also thought it would be fun to include a little video of me signing this week! It has been such a wonderful experience to serve as an ASL Sister. It has forced me to become a better teacher, and a better missionary in general. It has taught me to rely on my companions more, and forced me to simplify my teaching. I have grown so much these past three months, and even though I was initially overwhelmed at the call, I am now SO thankful for it. Serving our deaf members has been such a joy, and I am so grateful for the opportunity I have had to get to know them, and so thankful for their spirits.

I am also so thankful for the opportunity I’ve had to serve in the Little Rock Ward. It’s not Lakeland, and there were many times that I was frustrated or sad, but just like my call as an ASL Sister, my service here in Little Rock has taught me so much. It has taught me that things aren’t always going to be rosy, that some people aren’t going to adore you, that sometimes things are going to be hard, and that is all okay. To quote the film Joseph Smith: Prophet of the Restoration (favorite movie!!) “Sometimes the Lord brings us low so he can lift us higher!”

Another thing I’m really thankful for is the time I’ve been able to spend in Arkadelphia. I love this little branch! We had two ASL classes here this week, and they were so fun! The branch is so excited to learn ASL, and we had multiple people from the branch tell us this week that us being up in Arkadelphia and teaching Sign Language had personally blessed their lives. Wow!!!

If you haven’t caught on, this email is particularly sentimental, because something big is about to change…I found out today that I am getting transferred. I have received a new call to serve as a Sister Training Leader in Searcy, Arkansas. For those of you unfamiliar with missionary lingo, every zone has one set of STL’s, and they work with the Zone Leaders and all the Sisters serving in their zone. They conduct exchanges with every set of Sisters and give instruction in zone meetings and other training settings. This new call means that I will no longer be a sign language Sister. I am very, very sad about this, but at the same time I am really, really excited. I think this will prove to be another exciting opportunity for growth and learning.

I love y’all so much. Thank you for all the support I receive on a daily basis. I know my Savior lives. I know that this is His work, and I am so thankful that He views me as one worthy to participate in it.

Love,

Sister Hannah Kathryn Thomas

Two companionship photos that felt important.

 

Leave a Reply

