WEEK THIRTY-EIGHT: REFLECTION, RE-COMMITMENT AND SNOW!

Dear Family and Friends:

Hello! This week has been great. Sister L goes home tomorrow, and I am really going to miss her. We had so many serious laughs. I have learned so much this transfer about myself, and about the Lord, and the result is that I believe I have become a much better servant through the process. I am so thankful for the many different ways that Heavenly Father teaches us.

It snowed this week!! When our alarm went off at 6:30, I looked out the window and shot out of bed, “Sister L, get your clothes! It snowed and we are going to play in it!” We ran outside and spent a good 30 minutes running around in the snow like maniacs. It was so fun!

This week I also got my sign name! I will take a video of me doing it and send it out. Since R, one of our deaf members is now called as a primary teacher, I have had the opportunity the past few weeks to interpret for her in her class and it has been so fun! I love being with kids so much. 🙂

On Wednesday we had a world wide missionary broadcast from Salt Lake City. We heard from apostles and other church leaders on our new focus as a global missionary force, which is to teach repentance and baptize converts. I love this focus and I believe that as I work harder to implement it into my teaching, that the people we teach will benefit from it so much. Repentance leads to deep conversion, and deep conversion leads to dedication and diligence in serving the Lord. The whole time as I was sitting and listening to the broadcast, I could feel the Spirit saying over and over to me: “Get over yourself, this is not about you, and you are not the most important element in this work, you aren’t even the teacher. I am!” As I sat and listened to the Spirit, a quote was brought to my mind from President Boyd K. Packer. This quote was sent to me by my mom near the start of my mission, and it says: “I am not ashamed to say that I want to be good. In fact, it has become critically important to establish this intention between me and the Lord so that I know that He knows which way I have committed my agency. I went before Him and said, I am not neutral, and you can do with me what you want. If you need my vote, it’s there. I don’t care what you do with me and you don’t have to take anything from me because I give it to you – everything, all I own, all I am, and that has made all the difference.”

As I sat pondering this I was filled with an overwhelming need to recommit, to refocus, and to change. I want to be good – when I have finally the opportunity to see my Savior, I want him to recognize Himself in me. I want him to know by my actions and I want my actions to be his actions. When I walk into a room, I want Him to be confident that I will do what He would do, or that I will at least try my best to do so. I went home that day and hit my knees. I prayed and I asked Heavenly Father  to help and strengthen me in my renewed desire to be good. So this is what I want to give up this week; my will. My desire for control. The Spirit is right. I don’t matter and if I try to do this work on my own, I will fail. I am committing now to have faith and to act on that faith. To trust and to work hard to allow His will to become my will.

I am so thankful for the opportunity I have to serve. My mission is such a blessing. I know my Savior lives and that he atoned for me and all of us.

I love you all,

Sister Hannah Kathryn Thomas

 

Hannah with member Detril

D, our wonderful investigator 🙂

Hannah's Snow Day2

Snow Day!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

